Zombie Jamboree

I have extremely eclectic tastes in general, but with regards to music there’s hardly a genre I dislike. In fact, there’s only one that I detest; “slow jams” or romantic rap. I would much prefer to listen to Muzak versions of disco, opera, or even mariachi over that.

Music is an integral part of my day to day. I’m the type of person that generally needs music, or the TV playing in the background, to distract part of my brain so that I can focus on the work in front of me. Otherwise, the experience is agonizing for me. Also, depending on the type of music, I can actually become more efficient and work faster with little to no mistakes.

As is my general custom, I put on one of my playlists as I settled in to focus on some work. Today’s selection was off one of my “Randomness” playlist; I have several labeled as such, each on a different media resource. I chose to start in the middle to add an element of, well… randomness. The song, “Zombie Jamboree” popped up, the Rockapella version, but the Kingston Trio version was next in queue. Just then Chris, my fiancé, who was busy on his laptop on the table behind me stopped what he was doing and laughed when he realized what they were singing.

 “Back to back, ghoul, belly to belly
Well, I don’t give a damn ’cause I’m stone dead already
Back to back, oh oh oh, belly to belly
It’s a zombie jamboree

One female zombie she wouldn’t behave
See how’s she’s dancing out of the grave
In one hand she’s holding a quart of rum
The other hand is knocking a conga drum”

He looks at me, smiles, and declares I have unusual taste in music. Aye! That I do.

Chris, for the most part, is very partial to metal and consumes a steady diet of various metal: Black, Death, Thrash, Speed, Folk… yes, there is such a thing as Folk Metal. No, it’s not a bunch of Haight-Ashbury hippies headbanging; it’s more like modern day Vikings singing songs of conquest and praise for the Norse gods. It’s actually a fact that won Chris big points with me on our 3rd date.

I was searching for a particular CD and lamenting my inability to locate it. We were getting ready to head off and Chris asked what I was looking for. I explained it was my favorite Viking Folk Metal band, Týr. I assumed he had not heard of them since many of my friends were unfamiliar with them. In fact, I had to import my first Týr CD from the Faroe Islands (where the band is from) because they weren’t yet available in the US like they are now. As Chris looked at me grinning and said, “Of course I have Týr! Who do you think you’re dating?” a huge smile swept across my face. He then explained he had two of their CDs in his truck, and as I stood gazing upon him from midway up the stairs I became a bit awestruck at this piece of news.

I took it as a good omen.

10 thoughts on “Zombie Jamboree”

    1. I love Tyr! I think I originally found them on MySpace back when I was still hosting a Goth radio show (2004-2006). I ordered their CD immediately.

      There’s been a growing fan base in Folk Metal and a surge of new bands that have come onto the scene. Another one of my fave bands you might want to check out is from Finland; Turisas: http://www.turisas.com/

      They have a more “epic” sound, it’s definitely got a larger orchestration in there, but they’re simply amazing.

      Both of these bands are awesome in concert! They come through Los Angeles about once a year and I’ve had the pleasure of seeing them a few times now. Love, love, love these guys! (^_^)

      Like

    1. I do use Spotify from time to time. There’s a lot of stuff there, but some of my more unusual music isn’t yet available there.

      I think I would’ve been more surprised if you’d heard of folk metal! It’s a small genre, but it’s kind of the best of multiple worlds for me: Metal, Norse, Pagan, and often all in a foreign language. I have a great love of music in languages other than English.

      Like

  1. Great story! Having common taste in music makes life together so much better/easier! And when someone else appreciates our eccentric tastes, that’s the best of all! Glad to hear he is your fiancee, he sounds like a keeper to me!

    Like

    1. Thank you! He is indeed a keeper! We also have a number of geeky things in common, but music is also a good thing. Some days I’m overwhelmed at how fortunate I feel to have him in my life. 🙂

      Like

    1. You’re very welcome! I worked many years in the music industry. I have a ridiculous thirst for music and seek out almost anything outside the American music industry. It’s amazing how much great music is hugely popular all around the world, but in the US. But I digress, that’s a rant for another blog post. 😉

      Like

Leave a Reply

