Writing

I’m finding myself at a loss lately on what to share. I mean, I started this blog to take on the challenge, but also to re-ignite my passion for writing. For the first 3 weeks it was there and I was feeling pretty good about it. However, to actually write something out every day for 30 days straight is more difficult than I expected.

Of course it might have been easier with a preset list of topics or articles to work from… maybe.

Through it so far Chris has been a huge supporter on this project and my biggest cheerleader. He’s been quite amazing. I don’t recall any relationship previous to this that gave me this much encouragement.

So just to get it out there I posted on my Facebook page that I was struggling with finding something to write about. It’s not that I don’t have ample things to write, but I guess I’m not always sure if they’re things people want to read. I’m not sure why I think that. Could be just nervous or something.

Anyway, I posted that update and a friend, whom I haven’t seen in several years, suggested exactly what I needed to hear. He gave me some compliments on my blog, which was helpful. He also gave me a wonderful suggestion. He wrote, “I like stories. During quiet moments with friends and family, or even on dates (before marriage) I often throw out my favorite request: “tell me a story”.”

I wasn’t entirely certain what to do with this blog to begin with. I can’t say I had a focus beyond sharing my “interesting” life and views. But truth be told, as a child I greatly enjoyed writing short fictional satirical stories. I got quite a bit of praise from my teachers for them, and even took some creative writing classes at the local community college when I was still in elementary school.

Honestly, I’m not sure why I stopped.

When I turned 19 I began writing for a music magazine; for 7 years. I interviewed some of the biggest names in rock history. On that level, it was pretty cool, but as a young woman I detested the misogynistic male dominated rock music industry of the time, and was never fond of playing the politics. It stressed me out and made me generally unhappy.

A friend from Denmark gave me some wonderful topics, things she knows I’m passionate about. Topics regarding equal rights for all, women’s health, empowerment, and safety; my anger about the recent news reports regarding the gang rape of a 16 year old girl from Stubenville Ohio who was kidnapped and gang raped by high school football players and how some in the town blame her and others have tried to cover it up, as well as the gang rape and murder of a 23 year old woman in India. Amazing and intense topics! These are things I write passionately about on my FB page. But then I wonder how many of you want to hear me rant about injustices?

I’m reminded of the simple advice: “Write what you know”. Perhaps I’m making it all more complicated in my head than it needs to be?  If someone likes a post I make I hope they “like” it so I’m aware that what I write is received well. Feedback and comments help.

What tends to happen is I will think of a “something” to write about. In my head, much like a plan of strategy, I will have it all set out on what to include, where to go with it, what to start out with and how to end it. Until that set falls into place It’s difficult for me to take the first step. I already have page after page of partially written blog posts because I had no idea where I was taking it, so I stopped and saved it to consider on another day.

Anyway… that’s where I’m at. I promise to keep at this and keep writing.

 RANDOM MUSIC

Official video for Lovett‘s Eye of the Storm, directed by Christopher Alender, from the album, Highway Collection.

Lovett – “Eye of the Storm”


BONUS

13 thoughts on “Writing”

  1. Yvonne – I too have accepted this challenge with mixed feelings, some inspired and others overwhelmed. Like most things, I understood after taking several daily deep breaths that it wasn’t about inspiration as much as it was about persistance. This is my 3rd 30 challenge in a row, the process has been life changing and as I better understand now, it is in the interaction with fellow bloggers that I derive the most joy. Keep thinking that you have more to write and share than you can possibly fit into only one lifetime and you will never run out of fascinating ideas and topics. I truly enjoy your posts – Edward

    Like

    1. Edward, thank you! It is a matter of persistence and not allowing myself to over complicate or get overwhelmed and just write. I appreciate your kind words and support. I’ve very much enjoyed reading your posts as well. I’m very excited for you on your possible new adventure too! 🙂

      Like

      1. I try not to concentrate too much, allow for a flow of ideas and connect with the inner being who has so many reasons and inspirations to write. I may be a green pea, but I am loving every minute of this new experience. Edw.

        Like

  2. I think if you just write what you know and what you are passionate about and not worry about weather or not others want to read it, the writing will start to flow…alot of times people will read something and love and not leave feedback for the same reason…I love to read what you write, weather it is your rants, something person or just a story…you should write more often, not only are you good at it but you seem to like it to. Oh and as a side note…that guy Chris sounds like a really good guy, you should marry him or something 😉 Love you.

    Like

    1. Sunshine, you’re right. I shouldn’t, but for some dorky reason I still do. I should let that go, I know. I’m working on it. 😉 I love you bunches!

      Oh yeah, that Chris guy… yep, he is a really good guy. Marriage… I suspect that’s why I got sold for some peanut butter cookies. 😉

      Like

  3. I chose not to take the 30 day challenge – it wasn’t right for me at this time – so I truly do admire you for taking I on! My advice, for what it is worth, is to write for YOU, what you want to say, not what you think others want to read. That way you’re allowing your passion to flourish instead of trying to please others (who can sometimes be very difficult to please)!

    Like

    1. Geez! I get way too distracted… never got to finish replying to people’s posts. I’m sorry about that.

      You’re right. I know you’re right. I’m going to do just that too. Thank you for reminding me. 🙂

      Like

  4. Yvonne, Last month the challenge was easier for me because I was running 2 series about the Holidays. This month has been a challenge and a relief, only 1 blog post a day is the relief, but the challenge is finding topics that I have an interest in. Luckily the news and viral Facebook posts have kept me going. I love reading what you write because #1 you write it well #2 you write about topics that I have little knowledge in #3 you tell a great story! Thanks for sharing with us! Good Luck on this #30 Day Challenge I look forward to reading what you write!
    Nikki

    Like

    1. Hi Nikki,
      Thank you!! I’m not sure why I’ve found it harder to put words down now. I felt pretty good earlier on. But thank you, you’re encouragement means a great deal to me. 🙂

      Like

    1. Sean, Thank you!!

      You know, I call shenanigans! A teenagers life can be filled with all kinds of interesting perspectives. Just write what you observe, your opinions, and what’s going on in your life. I’m certain others would find it of interest as well. I know I would. 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

