Emails – Not More Powerful Than I

The other day I received a request to join my OC Witches Meetup. Below is what I found. Now, over all, this is a fairly typical profile. Not bad on it’s own, but it’s clear that the person applying did not thoroughly read the 11 basic rules.

How do I know? One of the rules tells you what to reply on the question asking if you read the rules. It’s a catch. I added it in there on purpose. I got tired of people blindly adding “yes” only to claim ignorance when they break the rules. Anyway, in that rule the answer is not what is given below. It’s not complicated, but you do need to follow basic directions and read. It really is a test. Below is the most common mistake, but you should see some of the most whack-a-doodle answers other people post in there. It’s just incredible the nonsense they post.

PROFILE [MEMBER NAME]
Location:
Los Angeles, CA

Introduction
Hello

What, within our group, do you hope to find?
Friendship

Have you read the Rules for Membership listed on the “Pages” tab and agree to abide by them? **THIS IS A TEST!** There is only 1 correct answer we seek from you and it’s hidden within the rules – please read them!
Yes

What, if any, tradition of witchcraft do you practice?
None

How did you hear about us?
On Meet up

When I discover that an applicant has given the incorrect answer for the rules I’ll post a quick note to their profile making the request that they thoroughly read the rules and make the needed changes.

My post:
Hi [MEMBER NAME], Thank you for your interest in the OC Witches Meetup! Please take a moment to thoroughly read our membership rules. Add some info about yourself to share with our members in your introduction section as well as give the correct answer regarding the rules. Once you’ve made those changes drop me an email and I can admit you to our membership. 🙂
Mar 25, 2013 11:22 AM

I’ll usually get one of two responses…

1. Nothing2. The corrections made

If I get answer #1 I’ll eventually remove their request after a month or two of inactivity. They’re often allowed to reapply and if they do they tend to add the correct info and get added to the membership.

If, however, I get  answer #2 I will admit them to the membership as soon as I see the updated profile.

Today, however, I got the following email in response to my post:

Sent: Wednesday, March 27, 2013 1:48 PM
Subject: [MEMBER NAME]sent you a message: Hi
Meetup Message from: [MEMBER NAME], via Orange County Witches Meetup

Hi MP, hope all is well, and thank you for the message. I would love to meet you one day!

Blessings,
[MEMBER NAME]

My interest in your group is that I have yet to meet anyone who is more powerful than I. Please confirm what I just said with your spirit guides. Just your picture, and you are very beautiful.

Did I actually read that right?

“I have yet to meet anyone who is more powerful than I”

*sigh*

One friend asked if there was a device they were unaware of for measuring such things? Another asked if the person was over 9,000? *snicker*

Ok, here’s the thing. I run my Pagan and Witches Meetup groups as SOCIAL groups. Everyone here is on even footing. There’s no power struggles, no witch wars, no bullshit high muckity muck title battles, no nonsense! Not everyone is on the same path, nor at the same place on their path. All are equal in our group.

The group is run this way because it makes the most sense. It allows people to meet, mingle, network, and make lasting friendships. We’re celebrating our groups 10 year anniversary with a party this Saturday. That’s not something many other Meetup groups in our topics can say they’ve accomplished.

Now, I must admit, this individual caught me at a time of little tolerance. I’m just over people and their ridiculousness. So, I was perhaps a lot less polite than I could have been in my email response. I’m usually very diplomatic, but I can be quite honest as well. Remember, my patron god is Odin… just sayin’.

Hello [MEMBER NAME],

Thank you for your message, but it appears you misunderstood the reason behind my post on your profile.

I will not allow your membership until you have made the necessary changes to your group profile.

1) Please add information about yourself in the introduction section. Writing “Hello” is only a greeting and says nothing about who you are.

2) Thoroughly read and understand all 11 membership rules listed for our group. Until you have added the one acceptable answer for the question regarding this your membership will not be accepted.

This is about understanding how to follow simple directions as well as recognizing what your responsibilities will be as a member of our group.

As for your bizarre comment regarding having “yet to meet anyone who is more powerful than” you… Why would anyone say such a peculiar thing? It’s arrogant to say the least, not particularly becoming, and definitely immature.

You have two options. You can either follow directions as have been outlined above, because you actually wish to become a member of our pagan based community, or you can remove your membership request.

Also, my screen name is not MP, it’s MistressPrime. I don’t know you and it seems rather forward of you to refer to me so casually. You’re really not making a very good first impression.

If you choose to follow the directions and join our group, know that despite your terrible first impression you will still be welcome to our gatherings.

MistressPrime
OC Witches Meetup Organizer

I joke that I get all the weirdos, but seriously, I do. I ask organizers of other Meetups if they get many of these and apparently not as much nor as colorful as the ones I do.

*rolls eyes*

Lucky me!

Leave a Reply

