Recipe – Broccoli Cheese Frittata

Recipe – Broccoli cheese frittata

This recipe takes the essentials from another recipe I have made. I adapted it to be able to use the ingredients I had available at the time.

8 medium eggs beaten

2 cups broccoli minced

3 cups shredded cheese (I used Kirkland brand Mexican Style Blend: monterey jack, medium cheddar, queso quesadilla, and asadero cheeses.)

½ cup onion minced

3 cloves garlic minced

½ cup flour

1 tbsp celery seeds ground

1 tbsp dried parsley ground

Salt and pepper to taste

I used my food processor to mince the broccoli, onion, and garlic.

Preheat oven 350°F

In a large bowl beat eggs, blend in flour, mix in all ingredients.

Oil (I used olive oil) a 9×13” baking dish. Spoon ingredients into baking dish.

Bake 350°F for 45 – 55min.

Serves 6-8 people

 

Original recipe – “Creamy Greens Casserole”

 2 cups frozen spinach – thawed and drained

1 cup sliced fresh mushroom

½ cup marinated sundried tomato, cut up

3 cups shredded cheddar cheese

16oz low fat cottage cheese

6 eggs beaten

¼ cup flour

Preheat oven 350°F

In a large bowl beat eggs, blend in flour, mix in all ingredients.

Grease a 2 quart baking dish. Spoon ingredients into baking dish.

Bake 350°F for 35 – 45min. Until knife inserted in center is clean.

Serves 6-8 people

My Take

My alteration of the recipe above was to use my food processor on the mushrooms and tomato as my fiancé greatly dislikes the texture of mushroom, but he’ll eat it if it’s finely minced.

mushrooms, onion, and sundried tomatoes

I’ve also increased the eggs to 7 or 8 depending upon their size, use fresh spinach, and added in spices: salt, black pepper, sage, oregano, and basil. I will also top with another layer of shredded cheese. We love cheese in this house!

Fresh Spinach Frittata

 

5 thoughts on “Recipe – Broccoli Cheese Frittata”

    1. I had to give up cheese one time at the request of a nutritionist… years ago. I lasted 2 weeks. Hated every moment of it. Especially when she recommended I substitute with soy cheese. For the record, soy cheese is poorly named. It’s soy, but there’s nothing cheese-like about it. I didn’t remotely like it.

      Like

    1. Wonderful! I hope you enjoy it!

      I’ve made variations on the “Creamy Greens Casserole” recipe over the years, but the “My Take” version is the most popular to date. The broccoli cheese frittata was created on the fly and is now going to be added into regular rotation in this house. 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

