Recipe – Pollo al Vino con Pomodori

Because of my Meetup schedule I tend to eat out at restaurants fairly regularly. I have a Meetup event at least once a week, sometimes I’ve had as many as 5 in a week. Most of these are events I host and therefore need to be in attendance  and a majority of them involve eating at a restaurant.

Lately, Chris and I have decided to eat at home more. 1) It helps save money. 2) We make healthier choices for meals. 3) Since I’ve been having food issues/intolerance/allergies, this helps ensure I’m less likely to have problems.

One of the dishes I make that Chris likes I’ve named “Pollo al Vino con Pomodori”. Essentially, it’s chicken in wine with tomatoes.

I like chicken thighs, bone in, skin on so we buy the “family size” packs and freeze them in groups of 4. It’s cost effective and easy for when I need to make a meal.

Ingredients:

4 chicken thighs (bone in/skin on) – You can easily change this out, but be aware the cooking time might need to change if you do so. You don’t want to dry out your chicken (another reason I like bone in/skin on).

2 tbsp butter
4 tbsp olive oil (more or less, depending on how much chicken you cook)
1 medium onion
1 1/2 head of garlic
1 bunch fresh basil
1 tbsp parsley (I used dried, but you can use fresh instead)
2 14.5oz cans of diced tomatoes (you can of course substitute with fresh)
1 6oz. can of tomato paste
1 bottle of dry white wine
6 oz. shredded Parmesan and Romano cheeses
salt and pepper

Chicken waiting for sauce

In a large pan melt butter in some olive oil over medium heat. The butter is for color and flavor, but the olive oil has a higher smoking point. The pan should be large enough to cook the chicken, but then also deep enough for the wine and tomatoes to be added later. Season to preferential taste and brown the chicken in the oil/butter.

Place chicken aside in an oven-safe casserole dish.

Wine sauce, onions, and garlic.
Wine sauce, onions, and garlic.

Using the same pan you cooked the chicken in add dry white wine. Cook to reduce. To be honest, I wanted a lot of sauce, so I made sure I had plenty of ingredients to work with and used an entire bottle of wine. Frankly, I was not likely to drink it so cooking it sounded like the best option.

After the wine has had some time to reduce a little add chopped onion and a whole head and a half of crushed garlic.

Allow the sauce to reduce to about half.

tomatoes in wine sauce
Once the sauce has reduced add two cans of diced tomatoes and one can of tomato paste, some parsley (dried was all I had) and lots of fresh basil. Simmer for about 10 minutes.

When sauce is ready pour it over the chicken in the casserole dish and top it with Parmesan and Romano cheeses. Cover it with foil, and into the oven on the middle rack at 350 F for an hour.

This is nice served over pasta or rice.

2 thoughts on “Recipe – Pollo al Vino con Pomodori”

  1. Yum! I’m not a chicken fan, especially not chicken breasts, but I do enjoy the thighs. Funny, I do the same thing, buy the giant pack and freeze them in groups of three. (I’m single). Thanks for the recipe, fellow OrangeCounty-ite.

    Like

Leave a Reply

