Is there any hope?

I was just on Facebook and inadvertently watched a very disturbing video (damn you FB auto play!) of a woman in a town center, surrounded by extremist Muslim men. She has her hands tied behind her back. I have no idea what they’re saying, but it’s something preachy and there appears to be a cleric type person standing next to her.

She says something defiant, but the men talk over her. She’s instructed to kneel. She does.

The cleric continues preaching, men in camo gear and street clothes come forward carrying riffles and cell phones to video the situation. While the cleric is still talking the man next to him shoots her in the head and she falls into the street dead.

After years of watching Hollywood movies I almost feel a bit desensitized to it. It wasn’t gory, but it was quick and she was definitely no longer in this world.

I was going to share it because I was just so shocked by it. You kind of get into a trance and just click that share button sometimes, but then I snapped to and changed my mind. I didn’t want to help perpetuate or support anything that was glorifying the senseless murder portrayed in that video.

You hear about these execution videos on the net and in the news, but they get cleaned up, and I’ve never really seen one. But there it was. So I wondered, who posted this? Why did they post this? Was it to show the world what atrocities are happening in this town? Was it to document? Or was it to glorify the scene?

I looked at the profile from whom the video was posted. It was someone from Syria. Based on the comments of the profile owner they’re definitely a fan of Saddam Hussein, and they seem supportive of Isil. The video posted was to glorify the tragedy on behalf of the movement. The video has been on that profile for 13 hours and already received almost 80,000 views.

I never thought I would so easily meander onto the profile for an Isil supporter.

That poor woman. I’m sitting here, 7 minutes into my birthday, and I’m crying for a woman I don’t even know. None of this shit makes any sense to me, there’s no logic for me to derive from any of it. I’m pissed, a bit scared, and sickened by this scene. There was a complete lack of compassion or empathy.

At this moment in time I’m unable to find the hope that things will ever get better.

Leave a Reply

