A number of my childhood friends are feeling a loss today that I don’t think any of us thought we would feel. Famed car salesman, Cal Worthington, died on Sunday at the age of 92 on his ranch up near Orland, CA. His commercials were a regular sight for our generation in the Southern California area.

Cal Worthington and his dog Spot!

Seriously, the guy sold cars, but all we noticed were the variety of animals paraded about as “his dog Spot”; tiger, a roller skating monkey, a hippo, a bear… honestly I’m not sure I ever saw an actual dog on his commercials. I kept waiting. Was I the only one looking for the dog?

Cal had a catchy tune for his commercials that all of us remember, and for some odd reason near the end when the guys would sing “Go see Cal, go see Cal, go see Cal”, as kids we all heard, “pussy cow, pussy cow, pussy cow”. Until today I had completely forgotten that I misunderstood it that way until I saw posts from my friends on Facebook that they too had misunderstood it as such. Frankly, I hadn’t seen one of his commercials in such a long time it was understandable that I had forgotten.

Though I have no idea if any of my friends ever met him, I do recall that my high school boyfriend worked at one of his car dealerships, we all expressed a feeling as though we’d lost a member of the family. He was so familiar to us with his regular pervasive commercial spots that he’s deeply ingrained in our childhoods.

Cal Worthington, you will be missed.

Here’s a compilation of some of his commercials.

4 responses

  1. Angelize Photography Avatar

    This is too perfect! I also grew up watching/hearing these and all I heard was “pussy cow” when I was a kid! And it’s so funny how I was so young to understand it in any derogatory sense or why adults were fast to correct us kids when we said it wrong. So funny!

    Like

    1. MistressPrime Avatar

      It’s quite fascinating to learn how many people also heard the song that way! 🙂

      Like

  2. photoliciousblog Avatar

    haha it’s so endearing to find that many others heard “pussy cow” as I did as a kid!! I didn’t even know the real words until a few years ago (i’m 35 right now).

    Like

  3. Cowboy Melle Avatar
    Cowboy Melle

    I heard it and only that until I asked about it to my grandpa once and he did correct me finally, telling me his name. Didn’t matter still tried to tell him, “did you hear it??? Pussycow,” and rightly not derogatory… Wish I could have been in his brain when my how ever young self brought it up. Sure hope it gave them a laugh at least

    Like

Leave a comment